March 2017

Munroe K Sponsor Leeds Architecture Awards

Author: White Rose Office Park

Leeds architecture awards 2016

It’s the time of year again when the Leeds Architecture Awards highlight the excellence of architectural design in our region. This year, Munroe K sponsored the ‘New Building’ category, in support and celebration of the continual development of Leeds’ architecture.

This year’s ceremony was held at Leeds Town Hall on the 2nd March, and featured a variety of experts from the world of architecture and property, including Edwin Knighton (Head of Landscape Architecture at Leeds Beckett University), Keith Knight (Chair of The Institute of Historic Building Conservation), and Jenny Fisher (Principal Urban Designer, LCC).

The award winner of our sponsored category, amongst steep competition, went to ACME, for the new Victoria Gate Arcades – a deserved winner; with The Harris Partnership taking Highly Commended for the Blackburn Wing at Bowcliffe Hall, and ADP Architects receiving Commendation Winner for the Laidlaw Library.

Other winners included S’PACE architects – Jean Robert Mazaud and Biotecture Limited who took home the award for the Innovative Building Category for the Recycling & Energy Recovery Facility at Newmarket Approach, whilst Shane Green for ‘Mary’s Tree’ at Canal Gardens secured the award for People’s Choice.

We hope to continue our partnership with the Leeds Architecture Awards to celebrate the new developments throughout the city in the years to come.

Take a look at the full winners list below:


Sponsored by the University of Leeds

COMMENDATION WINNERS: Oakwood Clock, Roundhay Road, Oakwood LS8 Designed by: The Harris Partnership with NPS Leeds Ltd For: Oakwood Traders & Residents Association and Leeds City Council Wapentake, 92 Kirkgate, Leeds LS2 Designed by: Arctic Associates Ltd For: Mood Developments

HIGHLY COMMENDED WINNER: The Lamb & Flag, 1 Church Row, Leeds LS2 Designed by: 2H Architecture For: Michael Rothwell & Terry George

AWARD WINNER: Iberica, 17a East Parade, Leeds LS1 Designed by: Lazaro Rosa Violan Studio For: Iberica Restaurants


Sponsored by NPS Group

COMMENDATION WINNERS: Carlton Green, Carlton Lane, Rothwell, Leeds LS26 Designed by: West & Machell Architects For: Advent Developments Crispin Lofts, New York Road, Leeds LS2 Designed by: Carey Jones Chapman Tolcher For: Rushbond Group

AWARD WINNER: Leeds City College – Printworks Campus, Hunslet Road, Leeds LS10 Designed by: Fuse and Seven Architecture Ltd For: Leeds City College


Sponsored by DLA Architects

COMMENDATION WINNERS: Pop-Up Park, Cookridge Street, Leeds LS2 Installed by: Eternal Lawns Ltd For: Leeds City Council Middleton Meadows, Ring Road Roundabout, Middleton LS11 Designed by: Nigel Dunnett (University of Sheffield) with funding and concept by Enterprise Rent-A-Car and installed by Pictorial Meadows For: Leeds City Council

AWARD WINNER: Light Night Leeds 2016 Funded by: Arts Council England and Leeds Bid (Leeds Business Improvement District) For: Arts Development Team (Leeds City Council)


Sponsored by Leeds College of Building

HIGHLY COMMENDED WINNER: Carlton Gate, Little London, Leeds LS7 Designed by: Michael Hyde and Associates For: Leeds City Council


Sponsored by Leeds Beckett University

HIGHLY COMMENDED WINNERS: ‘Mary’s Tree’, Canal Gardens, Roundhay LS26 Sculpted by: Shane Green For: Friends of Roundhay Park ‘Untitled Bas-Relief’, stage@leeds, University of Leeds LS2 Conserved by: Matt Fairley For: The Stanley & Audrey Burton Gallery and Estates Department (University of Leeds)

AWARD WINNER: Sovereign Square, Leeds LS1 Designed by: re-form landscape architecture For: Asset Management & Regeneration (Leeds City Council)


Sponsored by Munroe K

COMMENDATION WINNER: The Laidlaw Library, University of Leeds LS2 Designed by: ADP For: University of Leeds

HIGHLY COMMENDED WINNER: Blackburn Wing, Bowcliffe Hall, Bramham LS23 Designed by: The Harris Partnership For: Bayford Group

AWARD WINNER: Victoria Gate Arcades, Victoria Gate, Eastgate, Leeds LS1 Designed by: ACME For: Hammerson PLC


Sponsored by CITU

COMMENDATION WINNER: Leeds Station Southern Entrance, Little Neville Street, Leeds LS1 Designed by: Bauman Lyons Architects and AHR Architects Ltd For: Network Rail and West Yorkshire Combined Authority

AWARD WINNER: Recycling & Energy Recovery Facility, Newmarket Approach, Leeds LS9 Designed by: S’PACE architects – Jean Robert Mazaud and Biotecture Limited For: Waste Management & PPPU (Leeds City Council) and Veolia


Sponsored by Child Friendly Leeds

HIGHLY COMMENDED WINNER: University of Leeds MSCP Designed by: Carey Jones Chapman Tolcher For: University of Leeds

AWARD WINNERS: Blackburn Wing, Bowcliffe Hall, Bramham LS23 Designed by: The Harris Partnership For: Bayford Group AWARD WINNERS Leeds Dock, The Boulevard, Leeds LS10 Designed by: Child Graddon Lewis Architects and Gillespies LLP For: Leeds Dock


AWARD WINNER: ‘Mary’s Tree’, Canal Gardens, Roundhay LS26 Sculpted by: Shane Green For: Friends of Roundhay Park


AWARD WINNER Bramley War Memorial, Bramley Park, Bramley LS13 Designed by: John Thorp MBE – Leeds Civic Architect and Warren Horner For: The Friends of Bramley War Memorial


Continue Reading

March 2017

Investors look to the North as construction outside capital hits record levels following London property plunge prediction

Since the end of 2016, construction levels in UK regional cities have hit record levels according to the Deloitte Real Estate…

Read More




We’re busy designing the White Rose Park of the future and this needs a revolutionary new website to share our vision. In the meantime, you can check out our current website